top of page

Baking Fun

Hello, hope you all had a lovely Monday (Monday is the worst day of the week for me I hate it so much. I feel like it would make everything better if every week was a three day week)

Anyway, todays post is about baking. This afternoon while I was working to get me through the day I like to listen to Youtube videos and today I was listening to videos by iJustine, I love her videos so much she makes me laugh constantly. Justine was making cooking videos with her sister and I decided on the way home from work that I had some cake mixture boxes in my kitchen and that my boyfriend and I should make a cake.... and make a cake is what we did.

Look how simple it is, I have a box in front of me telling me what to do and I have all my ingredients in front of me what could possibly go wrong? ........ HA

For starters I didn't actually need the butter so good job I didn't put any in the mixing bowl. I decided to not read the instructions on the back of the box and I put it to one side, ignored it and throw all the ingredients in the bowl together HA so it's safe to say the cake won't look like it does on the box. But you will see a picture of the cake when we get to that.

I love baking, I really don't do it as much as I should because it's all about finding the time. Since I work full time and my weekends are normally spent shopping.

Making a cake from a box isn't cheating right? No of course not, I think it's a fun way to make cake and it takes half the time which means if I am on my way home from work and want to make a cake then I can still find the time and that makes me happy because cake is just amazing. Who doesn't love a cup of tea and a slice of cake after work hey?

I even got my boyfriend to help me which is even better because it makes it more fun if you aren't doing it on your own and it's something you can do together and then you both get to enjoy the cake once it is cooked. I still live at home so obviously my parents get to be cake testers too.

The cake goes in the oven for up too 35 minutes but I don't always rely on the time that the box says because all ovens are different right? I think the cooker in my house cooks some things a lot slower. I just hope it doesn't take all night because Monday at work had just made me so tired that I think I might be falling asleep in my slice of cake at this point.

And the cake is done.....

Now I am just waiting for the cake to cool before getting it out of the baking tin and the moment of truth to see what the cake looks like once I have cut it open and then it is all about the cake test. I'm hoping it isn't dry because we have no icing which already sounds like a fail (a cake with no icing) I hear you shout at your computer screens, sorry when a girl needs cake she needs cake even if that is with or without icing and plus right now I am so tired that it doesn't even matter haha.

The cake looks so good and whats better than warm chocolate cake? Nothing the answer is nothing is better than warm chocolate cake.

As you can see it looks nothing like the picture on the box and that's what I get for deciding that I didn't need the box and all you need to do is throw all the ingredients in the bowl at once. Although I feel like this wasn't a bad thing because then it just came out as chocolate cake, which is my favourite kind of cake.

So to sum it all up the warm chocolate cake tasted so good and everyone really enjoyed in.

I also really enjoyed creating this post and will definitely be writing some more baking related posts

I hope you enjoyed this post, I've never done a baking post before but I loved it.

I would love to read your comments on what you thought about this post and if you love baking too.

You can find me over on twitter at @HayleyxLunn


bottom of page